**Please help with my research on the fansubbing community!*

Discuss about anything here that doesn't fit in the other categories. Just don't spam.
uzumaki

**Please help with my research on the fansubbing community!*

Post by uzumaki » Nov 22nd, '10, 03:06

Hello fellow d-addicts! I am hoping that some of you might be so kind as to help me with a research paper I'm working on for a graduate course in mass comm. I'm a PhD student in Illinois, and I'm working on a paper about the fansubbing community here at d-addicts. There's currently very little academic research on fansubbing, with most of it related to Japanese animation and copyright issues. I'm more concerned with how members here interact with the dramas they download/watch and what they ultimately feel that they obtain from them. Entertainment? Cultural awareness? Identity formation? I can only speak for myself, and that doesn't make for a very interesting paper.

If anyone would be able to answer a few questions by PM, I would be extremely grateful! I can assure you will remain anonymous (i.e., I will not use your real D-Addicts username). The questions should take no more than 20 minutes to complete.

1. How long have you been a member?
2. How old are you, where are you from, and what is your native language?
3. Do you speak any other languages?
4. How did you first become interested in Asian dramas?
5. Have you ever been to any Asian countries?
6. What are your favorite dramas? (you can answer with specific titles, genres, or countries, such as "Japanese dramas")
7. How do you decide which dramas to download?
8. How many dramas do you typically download per month?
9. How often do you watch episodes of a particular drama? Daily? Weekly? Monthly?
10. How do you watch dramas? On your computer? Do you burn them to DVD? Do you stream them on your TV using a video game console? Do you care about video and audio quality?
11. Do you prefer hard- or soft-subs?