Login Issue? Delete D-addicts cookie from your browser settings and login again.

Vista slow starting..?

Discuss technical and geeky things here.
noura

Vista slow starting..?

Post by noura » May 21st, '07, 11:43

I just bought a new laptop with Vista ( my previous is XP ) , and noticed the slow starting when I switch it on.. takes about 2 : 40 mins !!
First I thought it's maybe because of the laptop .. here the one I bought Sony :
http://www.sony-mea.com/vaio/vgn_tx57gn ... cation.asp

And I did a search in google and discovered that Vista is actually SLOW !!!
and read a post telling to disable UAC and it will help littel.. I'm not an expert in tech issues... Anyone can help?

witica

Post by witica » May 23rd, '07, 09:33

which version of vista do you have installed on your laptop? home? home premium? business? ultimate? the answer to your question will vary slightly based on which version of vista you're running. but overall, vista is just a bit on the slow side for boot times...

noura

Post by noura » May 23rd, '07, 15:30

I didn't install it , I bought the laptop and it was built in the system .. and the version is Busines "Genuine Windows Vista™ Business "
As you said, the vista looks slow ..have you had any other problems with it? so I will be expecting them to happen ..

TRaven

Post by TRaven » May 23rd, '07, 20:43

do you know your laptop's specs, brutha?

goodmorning.im

Post by goodmorning.im » May 23rd, '07, 20:55

My friend just got a Toshiba laptop yesterday. Vista = worst nightmare! His took about that long to start up, too :[

My recommendation is to switch to Linux and just use Vista to play games.

(Does Vista even allow you to use clubbox?)

nak

Post by nak » May 25th, '07, 04:21

I am on Vista (i'm not sure about the verison, bu pretty sure its home premium or something), and it allows me to use clubbox and gogobox....just for you info...