teal LED panel

The entire IT industry highly values CompTIA’s vendor-neutral certification program. Since 1993, when CompTIA developed the A+ credential, it has issued more than two million certificates. Headquartered near Chicago, CompTIA is a non-profit trade organization with more than 3000 business partners and 2,000 member organizations. While the main focus of the association is on training and certifying IT professionals, it also plays a crucial role in advocacy and philanthropy in public policy. The CompTIA Infrastructure Career was launched by CompTIA in early 2018 pathway. 

CompTIA certifications: Overview

The CompTIA certifications are aligned more closely with the actual skills of the IT professionals by this new career development program to succeed in maintaining and managing IT infrastructure. The exam comprises a combination of drag-and-drop activities, multiple-choice questions, and performance-based items. The MCQs are multiple and single responses. Performance-based questions test your ability to solve problems in a simulated environment.

The following skills are possessed by the successful candidates:

  • Connect network to devices
  • Configure and install end-user software and devices
  • Troubleshoot common problems to resolve and diagnose problems.
  • Demonstrate fundamental knowledge of cloud, scripting, and virtualization 

CompTIA certification courses

Based on the skill level, CompTIA certification courses are classified as core, cybersecurity, infrastructure, and more professional certifications.

Core Certifications: CompTIA is built to develop core competencies and provides four core certifications— CompTIA A+ (focused on customer support and device connectivity), IT Fundamentals (preparatory certificate focused on the IT Fundamentals Framework), CompTIA Security + (with an emphasis on entry-level cybersecurity skills), and CompTIA+ Networking (targeted on Device base system connections).

Infrastructure Certifications: Apart from credentials + Network, you can find three infrastructure certificates— CompTIA Cloud+ (for hybrid clouds, virtual system management, CompTIA Server+ (with a focus on server maintenance and management issues), CompTIA Linux+ (focused on administration and administration of Linux operating systems), and provisioning of network resources for storage). 

Cybersecurity Certifications: CompTIA offers three cybersecurity certificates: CompTIA CySA+ (CySA stands for Cyber ​​Security Analyst and is intended for behavioral IT security analysts), CASP+ (CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner; focuses on professionals designing and implementing solutions security), and CompTIA PenTest+ (penetration testing for professionals who perform penetration and vulnerability testing).

Additional Professional Certifications: Many certificates that are not consistent with past CompTIA careers are included in this category, such as CompTIA CTT+, CompTIA Project+, and CompTIA Cloud Essentials.

CompTIA Infrastructure Certifications:

CompTIA Linux+

This certification is powered by LPI, and it is meant for Linux network administrators with at least 1 year of Linux administration experience. This experience must involve GNU and Unix commands, installation, shells, package management, security, scripts, and more. As an opening to this certification, A+ and Network+ certifications are recommended, but those are not required. Two exams ( LX0-104 and LX0-103) are supposed to be passed by applicants to get this certification. Two exams (LX0-104 and LX0-103) must be passed by the applicants to get this certification. The exams are required to be passed serial-wise, and before going for the LX0-104, the applicants must clear the LX0-103 exam. CompTIA started testing a new beta exam in 2018. 

CompTIA Cloud+

The cloud computing market is growing rapidly, so the CompTIA Cloud+ certification is following suit. This certification is meant for IT professionals with 2-3 years of experience in storage, networking, or data center management. A single exam CV0-002 is required to test the hybrid and multi-cloud solutions, cloud technologies knowledge, cloud technology integration into system operations, and cloud markets of the candidates. 

CompTIA Server+

This certification is meant for server administrators with 18-24 months of experience with server software and hardware technologies. Server+ certificates are required for cracking jobs in Intel, HP, and Lenovo as server technicians. It is also required for the US Department of Defense (DoD) and Microsoft. This certificate can be obtained by a single check, SK0-004.

CompTIA Cybersecurity Certifications:

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+)

As there is an increase in cybercrimes, so is the need for highly talented information security analysts. CySA+ is described as a liaison certificate between the Security+ credential and the Master’s Level Advanced Security Practitioner Certification (CASP), for which an experience of 10 years is required. A performance-based exam must be passed by candidates to win CySA+.

CompTIA+ Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP+)

While the term ‘master’ is not used by CompTIA now, the sought-after CASP+ certification is definitely a master-level certification. CASP is focused on practitioners, and it is the only practice-oriented certificate based on performance that CompTIA currently offers. This certificate is meant for experienced IT security experts who design, plan, and implement security solutions in the enterprise environment. 


We hope this blog provides you with all the information you need about the CompTIA training Certification Guide. If you want to know details about similar certifications, visit the website of Koenig solutions, which provides a wide range of certifications. Read the details carefully and choose as per your needs.